## APPENDIX II: WORKING COMMITTEES

## **GCHERA Executive Committee**

- 1. **Prof. Nick Wanjohi**, GCHERA President, Nairobi, Kenya.
- 2. **Dr. Vladimir M. Bautin**, Rector, Moscow Agriculture Timiryazew Academy, Russian Federation.
- 3. Dr. Jiaan Cheng, Vice-President, Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, China.
- 4. **Dr. Tlektes Espolov**, Rector, Kazakh State University of Agriculture, Almaty, Kazakhstan.
- 5. **Dr. Richard M. Foster**, Vice President for Programs, W. K. Kellogg Foundation, Battle Creek, Michigan USA.
- 6. **Dr. Martin Jischke** (Honorary founding member) President, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana, USA.
- 7. **Dr. Stanley R. Johnson**, Vice Provost for Extension and C. F. Curtiss Distinguished Professor, Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa USA.
- 8. **Dr. Ernst Lindemann,** (Honorary founding member) Professor, Faculty of Agriculture and Horticulture, Humboldt University of Berlin, Germany.
- 9. **Dr. Leopold Maerz**, President of Interuniversity Consortium for Agricultural and Related Sciences in Europe (ICA), Vienna, Austria.
- 10. **Dr. Ian Maw**, Vice-President, Food, Agriculture and Natural Resources, National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges (NASULGC), Washington DC, USA.
- 11. **Dr. Dymtro Melnychuk**, (Honorary founding member) Rector, National Agricultural University, Kiev, Ukraine.
- 12. **Dr. Uwe Jens Nagel**, Professor, Dean, Faculty of Agriculture and Horticulture, Humboldt University of Berlin, Germany.
- 13. **Dr. Kanju Ohsawa**, President, Tokyo University of Agriculture, Japan.
- 14. **Dr. Fakhry Shousha**, President and Board Chairman, Scientific Society of Egyptian Co-Operators, Cairo, Egypt.
- 15. **Prof. Henry M. Thairu**, Vice Chancellor, Incorero University, Nairobi, Kenya.
- 16. **Dr. Jose A. Zaglul**, President, EARTH University, Costa Rica.
- 17. Dr. Pillipe Choquet, President-elect, GCHERA, France

# **GCHERA Local Organising Committee**

- 1. **Prof. Mabel Imbuga,** Vice Chancellor, host institution
- 2. **Prof. Esther Murugi Kahangi,** Chairperson, Deputy Vice Chancellor, Research, Production and Extension (RPE)
- 3. **Prof. Alfred Mwasaru,** Chairman, Breakout Sessions Committee
- 4. **Prof. Catherine Muthuri,** Chairman, Exhibition Committee
- 5. **Prof. Charles K. Nioroge,** Member
- 6. **Prof. Glaston M. Kenji**, Chairman, Technical and Programme Committee
- 7. **Prof. Walter Oyawa,** Member
- 8. Dr. Bernard A. Nyende, Member
- 9. **Dr.** Cecilia Mwathi, Chairman, Communications and Outreach Committee
- 10. Dr. Elisha M. Njue, Chairman, Conference Excursion Committee
- 11. Dr. John M. Gathenya, Chairman, Logistics Committee
- 12. Dr. John M. Wesonga, Member
- 13. Dr. Mary Ndung'u, Chairman, Protocol and Hospitality Committee
- 14. Mr. Andrew Kinai, Webmaster
- 15. Mr. Davis Araka, Public Relations
- 16. Mr. Francis Ombwara, Member
- 17. Mr. P. D. Muchai Mbugua: Member
- 18. Mr. Vitalis Opondo, Member
- 19. Mrs. Scholastica Wamwayi, Secretariat
- 20. Ms. Linda Etyang: Chairman, Finance Committee

#### **GCHERA Conference Scientific Committee**

- 1. **Prof. Mabel Imbuga,** Vice Chancellor, Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology
- 2. **Prof. Esther Murugi Kahangi**, Deputy Vice Chancellor (RPE), Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology
- 3. **Dr. Rufaro Madakadze,** Programme Officer, (Education and Training), Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa (AGRA)

- 4. **Dr. Joyce Lewinger Moock,** Former Associate Vice President, Rockefeller Foundation, Currently International Philanthropy Advisor
- 5. **Prof. Stephen G. Agong,** Principal, Bondo University College, Maseno University
- 6. **Dr. Augusta N. Abate**, Assistant FAO Representative (Programmes)
- 7. Ms. Grace Ohayo, Deputy UNIDO Representative
- 8. **Prof. Adipala Ekwamu,** Coordinator, Regional Universities Forum for Capacity Building in Agriculture (RUFORUM)
- 9. **Prof. Agnes Mwangombe,** Principal, College of Agriculture and Veterinary, Sciences(University of Nairobi)

## **Breakout Sessions Committee**

- 1. **Prof. M. Mwasaru**, Chairman
- 2. Prof. Glaston Kenji, Member
- 3. Prof. Kamau Ngamau, Member
- 4. Dr. Helen Kutima. Member
- 5. Dr. Wariara Kariuki. Member
- 6. Mr. J. Mbugua, Member
- 7. Mr. Peter Odhiambo, Secretariat

#### **Communication and Outreach Committee**

- 1. Dr. Cecilia Mwathi, Chairperson
- 2. Dr. Erastus Gatebe, Member
- 3. **Dr. John Wesonga,** Member
- 4. Dr. Wanjiru Wanyoike, Member
- 5. Mr. Andrew Kinai, Webmaster
- 6. Mr. Vitalis Opondo, Secretariat

## **Conference Excursion Committee**

- 1. **Dr. Njue Mugai**, Chairman
- 2. Dr. Wariara Kariuki, Member
- 3. Dr. Arnold Watako, Member
- 4. **Dr. Edward Mamati**, Member
- 5. **Dr. Elijah Ateka**, Member
- 6. Mr. Patrick Mulyungi, Secretariat

## **Exhibition Committee**

- 1. Prof. Catherine Muthuri, Chairperson
- 2. **Prof. Charles Njoroge**, Member
- 3. Dr. John Gathenya, Member
- 4. Dr. Maina Mathara, Member
- 5. Dr. Njue Mugai, Member
- 6. Dr. Willis Owino, Member
- 7. Ms Joan Mugambi, Secretariat

## **Finance Committee**

- 1. Ms. Linda Etyang, Chairperson
- 2. Mr. Anthony Wachira-Member
- 3 Mr. Titus Wasike-Member

## **Logistics Committee**

- 1. Dr. John Gathenya, Chairman
- 2. Prof. Walter Oyawa, Member
- 3. Ms. Joan Mugambi, Member
- 4. Mr. Jeremiah Mbugua, Secretariat

#### **Program and Technical Committee**

- 1. **Prof. Glaston Kenji,** Chairman
- 2. Prof. Catherine Muthuuri, Member
- 3. Prof. Kamau Ngamau, Member
- 4. Dr. Aggrey Nyende, Member
- 5. Dr. Maina Mathara, Member
- 6. **Dr. Njue Mugai**, Member
- 7. Mr. Francis Ombwara, Member
- 8. Mr. Peter Odhiambo, Secretariat

## **Protocol and Hospitality Committee**

- 1. Dr. Mary Ndungu, Chairperson
- 2. Prof. Isaac Inoti, Member
- 3. Dr. S. M. Karanja, Member
- 4. Mr. Davis Araka, Member
- 5. Ms. Jane Kanyari, Member
- 6. Mr. Peter Mwaura, Member
- 7. Mr. Samuel Mokaya, Secretariat

# **Speech Writing Committee**

- 1. **Dr. John Wesonga**, Chairman
- 2. Mr. Davis Araka, Member
- 3. Mr. Francis Ombwara, Member
- 4. Mr. Vitalis Opondo, Member
- 5. Ms. Zipporah Njeru, Secretariat